Michael Jackson is Dead

I've just heard that Michael Jackson is dead and I don't know how to feel about it.

 

This will be one of those moments where a lot of people will remember where they were when he died. For me I was babysitting for my friend, she'd just come home & was in the kitchen I rushed in to tell her what I'd just heard on the news... couldn't quite believe it..

 

I was never a huge fan of Michael Jackson, love some of his music for sure, really love the Jackson 5.

 

What I DON'T know is what really happened with those kids. I've seen interviews of people (celebrities) that were totally convinced that nothing had happened, that it was all press hype but frankly I can't make a decision because I'm not in full possession of the facts.

 

I do know that MJ certainly seemed a troubled person & I do think, that whatever happened he'll be at peace now.

 

Why am I writing about this? Because I've experienced sexual abuse as a child & I know the effects of it... devastating damaging effects that last for a VERY long time. I feel angry that people can so easily dismiss it as if it didn't happen, because all too often that is exactly what does happen when abuse has occurred... people can't handle it so they deny it.

 

I don't know, as I said I'm not in full possession of the facts. I know the MJ's music has had profoundly positive effects on millions of people, and I know that many people will be affected by his death.

 

Whatever did or didn't happen I understand that abuse comes from deep seated pain, & agony that just can't be resolved that easily.... I believe in forgiveness because forgiveness resolves pain...

 

Michael Jackson, Rest in Peace

 

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Aislinn O'Connor (Thursday, 25 June 2009 19:25)

    A deeply moving post that makes clear the lasting pain that child abuse inflicts.

    Right now it's difficult either to pay tribute to Michael Jackson without belittling that pain, or to mention the allegations without disrespecting the genuine pleasure that his music gave so many people.

    Either way, it's humbling to see the understanding and forgiveness shown in this post.

    In the same circumstances, I doubt that I could do the same.