Smiley Sharkey

Mr Smiley Sharkey Sharkey
Mr Smiley Sharkey Sharkey

My Smiley Sharkey- how can you look at him and not smile? It's infectious, his big bobbly happy shiny eyes and huge happy grin, they are symbols of the joy he is brimming with.

 

Even though you know shark's teeth are razor sharp killing machines, you know this sharkey- My Blue Smiley Sharkey Sharkey is a friendly sharkey.

 

What’s even more cool about Smiley Sharkey is that he came to live with me as a gift from a friend.  My friend Mr Llama whom I've never met in person, because we're twitter friends. We regularly converse, chat, joke, laugh together online while being hundred's and sometimes thousands of miles apart. And when I needed a key ring I asked Mr Llama if he had one to trade, "No" he said, "but I’ll send you one anyway" Awesome!

 

Another really cool thing is that his daughter intervened at the purchasing stage and made sure Mr Llama bought the Blue Smiley Sharkey for me, not the pink (ughh!) key ring he was about to buy! Yayy!

  

 

My Smiley Sharkey is not only a joyful happy friendly sharkey; he also represents those elements in my friendship with Mr Llama.

 

His big cheesy grin couldn't be any wider, even if he tried real extra hard & held his breath and wished and wished and wished, his smile is already at maximum capacity.


His eyes pop out too- when you squeeze his belly. Seeing his eyes pop out makes me feel happy :) (see pic below)

 

 [Mr Smiley Sharkey was not harmed in the process of popping his eyes out, but kids please don’t try this at home]

 

As I look at my Smiley Sharkey now, I notice that he is holding my keys (He is after all, a key ring, as well as a very happy Smiley Sharkey). As I notice him holding my keys, I have a moment of insight- happiness holds the keys to success.

 

There is no point, no rhyme, nor reason to why Mr Smiley Sharkey is happy, he just is, and he does his job well, and often brings a smile to my face when I retrieve him from my bag to open the door. (Mr Smiley Sharkey makes it SO easy for me to find my keys)

 

All there is for Smiley Sharkey is joy.  He's just so happy to be alive; it's just his natural state of being.  He hangs around, swimming about a bit but he's the one that hold the keys- the key to his success is Happiness.

 

So, I ask you this, for it is an important question to ask oneself:

 

What are the Mr Smiley Sharkey's in your life, the things that bring a smile to your face?   


 

Mr Smiley Sharkey with his poppy-out eyes
Mr Smiley Sharkey with his poppy-out eyes

Write a comment

Comments: 25
  • #1

    Andrew Emmett (Monday, 02 August 2010 09:18)

    What a fun post Claire!

    It's good for people to take a moment and remember the 'Mr Smiley Sharkey's' in their life....a mug of tea helps aid the process.

    Now please excuse me I need to go buy a funky keyring.

    Best Regards

  • #2

    Emma (Monday, 02 August 2010 09:40)

    My condensed Mr Smiley Sharkey's list :-

    Waking up half an hour before the alarm goes off. I'm not unusual here, but boy is it great when it happens.

    Watching the wild life in my garden - foxes, hedgehogs, butterflies, birds, and even the squirrels who take great delight in beating me to my small crop of strawberries and raspberries each morning! Tips to prevent this anyone?

    Seeing the look on one of my clients' faces when they make a break-through.

    Finishing a really great book and knowing that you will read it again.... someday.

    When I manifest something I really need into my life.

    Emma









  • #3

    kate connon (Monday, 02 August 2010 10:47)

    Hi Claire,
    Humour is a powerful healing medium. You put together a very imaginative post.

    When I put a smile on another's face it puts an even bigger one on mine

    Completing my manuscript put a big smile on my face this week. XXX

  • #4

    jacqui taylor (Monday, 02 August 2010 10:52)

    You are right Claire I did love this, thanks for sharing!
    My big joy today is my iPhone 4, for video calls, awesome. My new SaaS cloud client who has yet to see collaboration in action, can't wait!

  • #5

    Steve Pearson (Monday, 02 August 2010 11:41)

    Claire,
    Thats lovely, and really well written.

    What makes me smile?
    Writing 'Dad' on a card or gift tag to my
    daughter.
    I have to agree with Kate, knowing you've
    given help or support and made someone else
    smile

    The smell of Godiva chocolate
    A smoked salmon bagel

    Oh and of course your tweets!

  • #6

    Paul Allen (Monday, 02 August 2010 16:20)

    Thanks Claire, I Love it.

    This leaves a smile on my face.

    A good question and an important question to finish with.

    Nicely written.

    (and my smiley shark, my guitar.)

  • #7

    Becky Sefton (Monday, 02 August 2010 16:30)

    This has put a smile on my face :-)

    What makes me smile?

    A mug with a photo of my brother on it dressed as a Red Indian nun.
    A blank notepad and a working pen when I'm alone.

    Becky x

  • #8

    Carol Anne Cooper (Monday, 02 August 2010 18:48)

    Magic moments like this - seeing someones beautiful creation arising out of my workshop. I love what you have written Claire:)

    My 14month old grand daughter dancing is a pure delight to behold

    The smell of the roses as I walk down the garden path

    These are just a few of many things ...

  • #9

    Mag kirwan (Monday, 02 August 2010 19:05)

    Well Claire . Glad it took a fish to make you smile !! I smile at my fish every day and the more plentiful the fish the more I smile !! Certain people make me smile too . I love meeting people who always seem happy and positive , the ones with the half full glass . Have you ever secretly laughed at yourself for saying or doing something silly ?
    Your blog just reminded me of the many reasons I have to smile . Enjoy the good times and remember during the bad time that will come good times are just round the corner .

  • #10

    sharon o'neill (Tuesday, 03 August 2010 03:43)

    or even: the success of your keys is happiness ;)

  • #11

    Cindy Eve (Tuesday, 03 August 2010 05:56)

    loved this post. what fun. love the shark too, how cute. I really enjoyed what @Emma had to say. I also love the wildlife in our garden, a treasure to enjoy.
    Thanks for a bit of fun
    Cindy @notjustagranny

  • #12

    geekwithabeek (Tuesday, 03 August 2010 08:50)

    Hey Claire,

    Thanks for sharing this. Mr. Smiley Sharkey really has a contagious smile.:) Thanks for reminding me to focus on the good things at a time when I was maybe forgetting to. :)

    My three year old niece is my smiley sharkey. She can make me smile no matter what is happening. I love looking at things through her eyes, the smallest things make her so happy. I think as we get older, we can loose that sense of fun without even realising it, so it's nice to have a reminder.


  • #13

    Susanne Pegg (Tuesday, 03 August 2010 10:09)

    Claire, great post - you are so creative and
    imaginative - keep up the great work girlie nd if if any message - keep smiling :) Of course our
    Matthew has Tim and myself smiling alot these
    days! (as well as the odd giving out!!)
    Reading the posts above - the wildlife and flowers ring home too and of course a great song favourite and a coffee with your feet up :) Take care x

  • #14

    Claire Boyles LifeMatters (Tuesday, 03 August 2010 18:24)

    Thank you so much you beautiful people, every comment each of you have taken the time to leave is a Smiley Sharkey for me- reading each of them brought a smile to my face :)

    This is why I do what I do, to know that writing articles like this has had a positive effect on peoples lives, no matter how small- because a smile is never small, it's infectious, it gets passed on from person to person..

    Thank you all So much :)

    I met Mr Smiley Spacehopper again today- who every time I meet him brings me into almost hysterical fits of giggles.

    I have photos of us together!

    [I think I'll save that for another blog post though, watch this space]

  • #15

    ttdenim (Tuesday, 03 August 2010 19:42)

    Hi claire,

    Thank you for the article and yes i have a big smile on my face.

    I hope to read more articles from you....

  • #16

    Ray (Tuesday, 03 August 2010 22:36)

    Claire,

    A fun and engaging post. Fun to read and complete with a message. Loved it!

    Ray

  • #17

    Roisin Markham (Wednesday, 04 August 2010 06:08)

    Great post Claire, thanks for bring it to my attention via twitter. I love that your talking about happiness and Mr Sharkey is blue...
    I also love that this blog post is so much you in your flow being who you are. Go girl!
    3 Mr Sharkey moments from me:
    1. when my family is having fun
    2. a client walks away with a painting that speaks to their soul
    3. blog posts like this

  • #18

    Bláithín O' Reilly Murphy (Wednesday, 04 August 2010 10:00)

    I love this blog post. Mr. Smiley Sharkey is perfectly you Claire ;)

    Things that make me smile;

    Making people laugh.
    Love, I just love, love.
    My hubby's giddy excitement
    A cup of Tea in my china cup
    And snail mail letters - I love getting letters in the post!

    Happy smiling people!

  • #19

    j0n1 (Wednesday, 04 August 2010 17:24)

    I thought Mr Smiley Sharkey could do with a friend ;-) http://twitpic.com/2bn0t2

  • #20

    Keith Bohanna (Thursday, 05 August 2010 01:42)

    Nice one.

    My family do that for me. And often the quietness of an early morning before the days starts

    ;)

    Keith

  • #21

    Dr. Walter Sims (Friday, 06 August 2010 12:43)

    I am so in love with life because in it you have so many opportunities to be all that you can be!!!! I am smiling right now!! AND doing my happy dance!!

    Dr. Sims

  • #22

    spudart (Wednesday, 28 December 2011 05:04)

    it's amazing the powers the keychain has. truly. last year i got an ewok keychain and then i start tweeting as an ewok! hmmm, seeing that your smiley sharkey keychain has sparked smiles, it makes me consider doing a switchup on my keychain.

  • #23

    Claire Boyles LifeMatters (Friday, 30 December 2011 05:02)

    Hey Spud!

    ewoks are COOL!!! I bet Mr Smiley Sharkey would love to meet your ewok key chain!

  • #24

    Chrid (Wednesday, 30 January 2013 00:56)

    Hi Claire

    Love the idea behind this site. The positive nature has to be a force for good.

    Can't get over Sharky his grin makes me laugh every time I see it that's why I wanted to use him for my profile pic as well. Thank you by the way I keep looking at it and it's impossible not to smile. Thank you once again for bringing joy. x

  • #25

    Claire Boyles LifeMatters (Wednesday, 30 January 2013 14:06)

    Hi Chris!

    Thanks so much for sharing your positivity and joy having met Mr Smiley Sharkey! I know he's been very smiley when reading your comments, it helps keep him going, knowing that he's succeeding in his mission to help people smile :)